This site uses cookies! Learn More

This site uses cookies!

armedunity.com uses cookies to improve user experience.

By continuing to use this site, you agree to allow us to store cookies on your computer.

Digitex

Cross-promotion Inside Game with updates

Question

Hi everyone,

I'm looking to build a very simple cross promotion system with the following idea:

Create any canevas containing few icons of other of your games with a clickeable game icon. This canevas could be triggered by a click on a more games button or anything else.

The part where I have difficulties is that I want the games that will be shown to be controlled by me.

in other words, I'd like to put the game icon link and game Url outside the game code itself and be able to update the shown games whenever I want without Updating the game inside the store.

I have never done such stuff before, so I'm wondering how could I get a png from a url and put it inside the image component? and also update the Urls to the relevant one

Regards,

Edited by Digitex

11 answers to this question

Just slap it inside a MySQL database and fetch the data whenever needed

thanks for your answer,

any guide or help: where to search if I want to learn how to do so?

Regards,

Thank you for this awesome playlist.

I have started to learn from it. I get a weird error, I fail to get the two columns having a VARCHAR type data. It works fine for INT Type (ID and Cost Columns).

Here is the line when I get the error:

Please login or register to see this code.

Secondly, I'd like to know how to handle data other data types like images and insert them inside the database?

Regards,

Please login or register to see this attachment.

Please login or register to see this attachment.

Edited by Digitex