This site uses cookies! Learn More

This site uses cookies!

armedunity.com uses cookies to improve user experience.

By continuing to use this site, you agree to allow us to store cookies on your computer.

Calum.McManus

Sticking to one game idea?

So I completed my first year at uni back in early may, since then I have been working back at my old job as a Unity3D Developer. So for the past almost 2 years I have only been doing either graded work with C++ or using Unity to make programs for someone else and I really need to get my motivation back to work on my own games and get back into the Indie scene.

My issue is that when ever I try to think of a game idea I end up with 10 different ideas, pick one, then after 2 weeks decide one of the other ideas was better, try that one, then give up because of limitations in my skills (I am a programmer so when I start needing Art and Animation) I loose motivation as I can't make it look nice or sound nice etc.

As I am use to working professionally I never have to worry at work, we have a team of artist/animators that make what ever art assets we need. Due to this my standards have become really high, all the project I've worked on have been created by a team of seasoned artists and there is no way I can replicate that.

I was wondering if anyone else find this to be a issue and how they get around it? I have so many ideas but just can't get motivated to see it all the way through!

• Like 1

I have the same problem , have about a dozen half finished projects just chilling on my hdd , my problem isnt the art though , its just overall sticking to one idea, I always expand too much and then end up losing motivation, dont have a solution unfortunately. 

Lone wolves are a dying breed in game development.

You cannot do it alone. It's virtually impossible. That is why you stick together. That is why you create a team.